How can we help you?

How to Clear Browser Cache

Follow

Why clearing or refreshing your cache?

Your browser has a folder in which certain items that have been downloaded are stored for future use. Graphic images (such as buttons and icons), photo's, and even entire web pages are examples of items which are saved or cached. When visiting a webpage your browser checks if a copy of the files on the page is in its cache already. If so, it will save the visitor some downloading and make webpages load faster. Some browsers refer to it's cach as Temporary Internet Files

Cache refresh

There are some situtations when bypassing your browser's cache is prefered. Just clicking the refresh button (or hitting F5) won't be sufficient in this case, because this reloads the webpage while still using the old files from the cache. You need to refresh your cache first! The following steps tell you how to clear the browser cache for different browsers:

 

Chrome:

  1. Go to the "Tools" menu (the three horizontal bars on the upper right of the browser) and click on "History" (Shortcut: Ctrl+H).
  2. Click on "Clear all browsing data…" (Shortcut: Ctrl+ Shift+Del).
  3. Select the types of data you want to clear, include "Empty the cache" option.

Firefox:

  • In versions of Firefox that display a single, orange "Firefox" button: click the "Firefox" button and click "Options". Select the "Advanced" section, and go to the "Network" tab, and click the "Clear Now" button. Then click "OK".
  • When Firefox displays a menu bar, from the "Edit" or "Tools" menu, choose "Preferences" or "Options". Select the "Advanced" section, and go to the "Network" tab. Click the button called "Clear Now". Then click "OK".

Safari:

  • From the "Safari" menu, choose "Empty Cache…" or hold down the Opt and Cmd keys and press E.

Internet Explorer:

  1. Click "Tools" (the Gear-shaped button on the top-right section of the browser), point to "Safety" and click "Delete Browsing History…" (keyboard shortcut: Ctrl+ Shift+Del).
  2. Select "Temporary Internet Files" at the top, and click "Delete". (If Wikipedia is in your list of favorites, you may need to turn off the "Preserve Favorites website data" at the top of the dialog box.)
  3. Internet Explorer will now silently delete the items you have chosen. Once finished, the notification bar appears at the bottom of the screen, stating that the selected browsing history has been deleted.

 

Was this article helpful?

Comments

Powered by Zendesk